Skip to content

    Broker costs and features

    Option selling margin benefits: hedges, collateral and broker rules

    Option selling margin depends on the portfolio the broker recognises, the collateral it accepts and the cash component available. A hedge can change the required margin; a pledge changes how eligible margin is funded. This comparison explains six brokers’ documented policies checked on 14 October 2026, without claiming a live calculator benchmark or choosing a winner.

    Facts checked 14 Oct 2026 against 15 sources. No affiliate links. Not investment advice.

    Compare portfolio margin, then compare its funding

    An option selling margin comparison needs two checks: what the portfolio requires, and which funds or pledged assets the broker accepts against it. A smaller calculator figure does not establish cheaper funding. A large collateral balance does not establish that the cash component is sufficient.

    We compare written policies rather than simultaneous calculator outputs. No six-broker iron-condor test or screenshot capture was completed, so this page supplies no purported live margin amounts. The method is to keep the assumed funding requirement fixed, identify each broker’s stated treatment, and withhold a rupee result where the interest base or rate is unclear.

    For the exchange-margin background, read intraday leverage and margin rules. This page adds the funding distinction. It is an educational policy comparison and plain-English summary, not legal advice or a strategy recommendation.

    Six brokers: cash-component and funding policies

    Official pages checked 14 October 2026; alphabetical. These are documented terms, not matched live calculator quotes. “Not established” is not a zero price.

    BrokerCash/pledge treatment establishedPublished funding charge and scopeLimit or evidence gapSource IDs
    DhanSupport requires 50:50 cash and noncash when pledge benefit is used.0.0438%; product page specifies daily.Support says cash-shortfall base; product page says collateral utilised when ratio unmet. Rupee result withheld.d-help / d-page
    FYERSNotice effective 16 December 2024 requires at least 50% cash/equivalents.15% p.a. on the shortfall, per the notice and a FYERS help page updated 5 December 2025; calculated daily, debited weekly.Help page says the shortfall is measured on the day’s highest margin use, not only overnight positions. Tax treatment not stated.f-cash / f-help
    GrowwCash balance and eligible haircut-adjusted cash equivalents count toward the cash component.Explainer (updated 14 October 2026): 0.038% per day + GST of the overnight shortfall; same-day positions not charged. F&O pricing page lists “Cash shortfall charges 0.045% per day”.The two Groww pages give different figures, and the pricing page does not say whether 0.045% includes GST. Confirm the billed rate.groww / groww-pricing
    Kotak NeoBroker describes funding the required cash component for clients.0% intraday; listed carry-forward plans 8.99% p.a. on noncash used above 50%.Trade Free Youth, Trade Free and Trade Free Pro named. Confirm applicable plan and billing.kotak
    UpstoxHelp calculates cash shortage and deducts accepted cash-equivalent value in its example.0.05% daily on shortage.Verify actual pledged-scrip classification; no tax-inclusive result supplied.upstox
    ZerodhaPledge help describes 50% cash/equivalent requirement for F&O.Overnight cash shortage funded by noncash: 0.035% daily plus 18% GST.Option-buy collateral has a separately documented 0.05% per day overnight DPC; keep uses distinct.z-pledge / z-buy

    Rates, units, charge bases and overnight/intraday scope differ. No annualised ranking inferred. Confirm the applicable account, plan, asset classification and current billing terms with the broker.

    What the 50% cash rule actually supports

    NSE Clearing’s equity-derivatives liquid-assets page says the cash component shall be at least 50% of liquid assets. That page addresses clearing members. Applying its wording directly to every individual customer would skip the broker’s funding arrangement.

    The retail policies above provide the missing step. Zerodha and FYERS describe a cash or cash-equivalent component. Kotak explicitly describes the broker maintaining it and lists financing charges for qualifying clients. Those descriptions can coexist: funding a component for a customer does not remove the clearing requirement.

    Cash equivalents are also a classification, not a synonym for any holding you can pledge. Use the broker’s approved list and its current post-haircut value. A security counted as noncash cannot be moved into the cash column merely because its market price looks stable. The collateral-margin glossary explains the vocabulary without substituting for an account-specific list.

    ₹2 lakh assumed requirement: enough total collateral, still a cash gap

    Illustrative funding amounts, not a live margin estimate. Assume the broker requires a 50% cash/equivalent component and accepts these post-haircut balances.

    Assumed required margin
    ₹2,00,000
    Cash plus eligible cash-equivalent collateral: ₹40,000 + ₹30,000
    ₹70,000
    Accepted noncash collateral
    ₹1,30,000
    Total accepted collateral: ₹70,000 + ₹1,30,000
    ₹2,00,000
    Cash component required: 50% × ₹2,00,000
    ₹1,00,000
    Cash-component gap: ₹1,00,000 − ₹70,000
    ₹30,000

    Sources: [2], [9], [10]

    The same assumed ₹30,000 shortage under different published rates

    Arithmetic only, rates checked 14 October 2026. Assumes the stated amount is chargeable under that broker’s actual terms. Compare periods, tax status and eligibility before comparing the amounts.

    BrokerCalculationResult and limitation
    Zerodha₹30,000 × 0.035%₹10.50/day before GST; ×1.18 = ₹12.39/day with its stated GST.
    Groww₹30,000 × 0.038%, then + 18% GST (explainer); ₹30,000 × 0.045% (pricing page)₹11.40/day before GST; ×1.18 = ₹13.45/day with GST. At the pricing page’s 0.045%: ₹13.50/day, GST status not stated. The pages conflict.
    Upstox₹30,000 × 0.05%₹15.00/day; tax treatment not established here.
    Kotak Neo qualifying carry plan₹30,000 × 8.99% × 30/365₹221.67 for assumed 30 days, before any unverified tax; not a daily quote.
    FYERS₹30,000 × 15% ÷ 365₹12.33/day, the same daily method as FYERS’ own help example; tax treatment not stated. The shortfall is measured on peak daily margin use.
    DhanNot computedDhan’s two pages describe different bases for the 0.0438% charge.

    Round once at the end to the nearest paisa. These figures exclude trading costs, pledge processing, margin penalties and actual balance changes. Kotak’s rounded 0.025% daily illustration is not treated as exactly equal to 8.99%/365.

    Sources: [2], [9], [10], [11], [5], [6], [7], [13], [14]

    Haircuts change the usable balance before funding is checked

    A haircut reduces how much collateral value is recognised. For an illustrative holding worth ₹1,50,000 with an assumed 20% haircut, usable collateral is ₹1,20,000. Neither the holding nor that haircut is a recommendation or a current quote for a security.

    If its market value fell by an assumed 10% while the haircut stayed unchanged, recognised collateral would become ₹1,50,000 × 0.90 × 0.80 = ₹1,08,000. That is ₹12,000 less usable value. A displayed pledge balance can therefore change even though the quantity held is unchanged. Groww’s explainer confirms that pledged value counts after the applicable haircut; the chosen percentages here are arithmetic assumptions.

    A pledge processing fee is a different line from funding interest. Read non-brokerage charges for account/service tariffs and pledged shares for the mechanism. We do not reuse an MTF pledge fee as evidence for the cost of pledging existing holdings.

    Read a hedged basket without confusing placement and final margin

    1. 1

      Record the complete intended portfolio

      Keep exchange, underlying, expiry, quantity, product and existing positions consistent. A comparison that changes one of these inputs is not a matched margin check.

    2. 2

      Distinguish the placement requirement from the final blocked amount

      Zerodha defines required margin as funds needed initially and final margin as what remains blocked after execution. Final margin is not an additional amount to add to required margin.

    3. 3

      Inspect the order sequence and actual fills

      FYERS documents that placing the buy leg before the sell leg can allow the hedge benefit to be considered. This describes its workflow, not a recommendation to enter a spread. A basket estimate does not certify that every leg filled.

    4. 4

      Check funding separately after the estimate

      Identify the eligible cash/equivalent balance, noncash balance, haircut and overnight shortfall treatment. Keep premium outlay and displayed margin labels distinct.

    Can pledge margin be used for option buying? Check the current product policy

    A blanket answer is unreliable. Zerodha’s current option-buying help says up to 100% of collateral value can be used for option buying. It describes overnight DPC of 0.05% per day on collateral utilised and no DPC for positions closed the same day. That is a different charge from the 0.035% overnight cash-shortfall rate in its pledge help.

    The option buyer’s premium obligation has not disappeared merely because the broker provides collateral-backed funding. Confirm the permitted product and what happens when a debit remains. Do not carry an old statement that collateral can never support an option purchase into a current comparison, or extend one broker’s permission to another.

    This matters even when a long option is part of a hedge. You need to understand both how the broker funds that purchase and whether the intended hedge is recognised at the time the next order is assessed.

    Evidence to collect for a proper calculator comparison

    • Same portfolio and timestamp

      Save all contracts, quantities, product settings, existing-position assumptions and the time of capture for each broker.

    • Matching calculator fields

      Record required margin, final margin, premium and funding information separately. Do not treat unlike field labels as comparable totals.

    • A verifiable source for every amount

      Retain the screenshot or response actually observed. If access or an input is missing, leave the amount unavailable.

    • Terms for the actual account

      Confirm the plan, approved cash-equivalent list, interest base, period and tax treatment before multiplying a rate.

    • No claim that minimum margin establishes suitability

      A capital comparison supports understanding requirements; it does not establish a recommended position or broker.

    Unresolved policy wording stays visible

    Dhan’s support page describes the 0.0438% charge on the cash-margin shortfall. Its pledge product page describes daily charging on collateral utilised when the ratio is not maintained. We show both descriptions and withhold a Dhan rupee example rather than silently choosing a base. A written confirmation of the applicable billing rule would resolve that comparison.

    Groww’s two current pages also differ: its explainer says 0.038% per day plus GST, while its F&O pricing page lists 0.045% per day. We show both. FYERS states 15% a year on the shortfall but measures it on the day’s peak margin use. A broker’s tax treatment is not assumed merely because another broker states GST.

    The useful record is the account-specific evidence: requirement, recognised collateral, cash gap and charges actually applied. Compare that with your decision notes and margin assumptions. Nothing here supplies signals, strike selections or a reason to increase exposure.

    Sources

    Every figure on this page comes from one of these. Each was checked on the date shown.

    1. [1]NSE Clearing equity-derivatives liquid assets · checked 14 Oct 2026
    2. [2]Zerodha pledge support: cash-shortfall DPC · checked 14 Oct 2026
    3. [3]Zerodha: buying options with collateral · checked 14 Oct 2026
    4. [4]Zerodha: required and final basket margin · checked 14 Oct 2026
    5. [5]Dhan support: pledge processing and shortfall interest · checked 14 Oct 2026
    6. [6]Dhan pledge product page: interest wording · checked 14 Oct 2026
    7. [7]FYERS 13 December 2024 cash-component policy update · checked 14 Oct 2026
    8. [8]FYERS order-level hedge benefit in baskets · checked 14 Oct 2026
    9. [9]Groww cash-margin shortfall charges, current explainer · checked 14 Oct 2026
    10. [10]Upstox pledged-security classification and shortfall calculation · checked 14 Oct 2026
    11. [11]Kotak Neo cash-component funding and plan-based interest · checked 14 Oct 2026
    12. [12]SEBI 23 September 2024 study headline: FY22–FY24 individual equity-F&O losses · checked 14 Oct 2026
    13. [13]FYERS help: cash-collateral margin requirement and shortfall interest (updated 5 Dec 2025) · checked 14 Oct 2026
    14. [14]Groww F&O pricing: cash shortfall charges · checked 14 Oct 2026
    15. [15]SEBI PR No. 50/2026: FY25–FY26 equity derivatives studies, 20 August 2026 · checked 14 Oct 2026