Trading APIs
Trading APIs in India: what a broker API is, what 12 brokers charge, and the SEBI rules for API orders
A trading API is the connection a broker gives you so that a program, rather than your thumb on the app, can place orders and read prices on your account. Among the 12 Indian brokers we checked on 13 October 2026, 11 charged nothing for the order side of their trading API (Shoonya's pages give no fee); what you pay for is market data at some brokers and brokerage on each order. Since 1 April 2026 SEBI's retail algo framework applies to every stock broker in India, so orders your own code sends through an API now need a static IP you register, a fresh login each trading day, and no plain market orders.
Facts checked 13 Oct 2026 against 38 sources. No affiliate links. Not investment advice.
What a trading API is, in plain terms
API stands for application programming interface: a set of web addresses a broker opens up so software can talk to your trading account. With a broker's trading API in India, a Python script, a spreadsheet macro or a strategy platform can do what you normally do by hand: place, change and cancel orders, check positions and funds, and stream live prices.
Most brokers split it into two parts:
- The order side sends orders and reads your account. This is the part SEBI's algo rules are about.
- The data side carries the live price feed and past candles (historical data). This is where the fees usually are.
A trading API is a tool. It does not make a strategy profitable, and under SEBI's framework NSE's rules count every order received through a client API as an algo order, with rules attached. If the idea of automating is new to you, read what algo trading is first.
API at a glance, checked 13 Oct 2026
- Brokers whose API pages we read
- 12
- Zerodha, Upstox, Dhan, FYERS, Angel One, ICICI Direct, Kotak Neo, 5paisa, Shoonya, Alice Blue, Groww and Motilal Oswal
- Order API at ₹0
- 11 of 12
- Shoonya's pages state no API fee either way. Zerodha's free Personal plan and Groww's Free Trial come without live data.
- Monthly data fee at the three that charge one
- ₹499 to ₹500
- Dhan ₹499 + taxes every 30 days; Groww ₹499 + taxes a month or ₹4,999 a year; Kite Connect ₹500 a month per app
- Brokerage per API option order
- ₹0 to ₹20
- ₹0 on Kotak Neo's Trade Free plans, ₹5 + GST at Shoonya, ₹10 at Upstox till 31 Dec 2026 per its staff, ₹20 at seven others
- Orders per second before your algo needs registering
- 10
- Per exchange, under NSE's implementation standards of 5 May 2025
Source: [3]
- One year at 120 option orders a month, five brokers
- ₹0 to ₹41,639
- Brokerage plus API or data fees with GST, before statutory charges, from the example in our charges guide
What SEBI's retail algo framework changed for API users
The rules come from SEBI's circular SEBI/HO/MIRSD/MIRSD-PoD/P/CIR/2025/0000013 of 4 February 2025. After three timeline circulars, the last one (SEBI/HO/MIRSD/MIRSD-PoD/P/CIR/2025/132 of 30 September 2025) made the framework apply to all stock brokers from 1 April 2026. The headline points for someone whose own code places orders:
- Up to 10 orders per second per exchange, no algo registration. Your broker tags the orders with the generic algo ID 99999.
- Faster than that, register first. The algo is registered with each exchange where it trades, through your broker.
- A static IP on file. Orders must come from a fixed internet address registered with the broker: one primary, one optional secondary, changed no more than once a calendar week.
- A daily logout. API sessions end before the next trading day, so you log in again with two-factor authentication.
- No plain market orders. NSE has rejected market orders flagged as algo orders in F&O since 4 August 2025, so brokers either ask for or add a price limit (market protection), or, like Angel One, prohibit them for algos.
None of this asks you to register with SEBI to automate your own trading. A platform that runs strategies on your account is different: it must be empanelled by the exchange and hosted on your broker's servers. Our empanelled algo providers guide shows how to look a platform up on the exchange lists.
Broker APIs side by side: fees, brokerage and static IP slots, checked 13 Oct 2026
A short version of the fee table in our algo trading charges guide and the whitelisting table in our static IP guide, both checked on 13 October 2026. If anything here differs from those pages, they are the record. Brokerage is for F&O options and is before GST. Fees show "+ taxes" or "+ GST" only where the broker says so.
| Broker (API) | Order API | Live data | Brokerage per API option order | Static IPs you can register |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zerodha (Kite Connect) | ₹0 (Personal plan) | ₹500 a month per app (Connect plan; Zerodha doesn't say if GST is included); Personal has none | ₹20 | Primary + optional secondary, for the whole developer account |
| Upstox | ₹0 | ₹0 | ₹10 till 31 Dec 2026 (not GTT orders) per staff posts of 5 and 6 Oct 2026; its price pages show older end dates; standard rate ₹20 | Primary + optional secondary |
| Dhan (DhanHQ) | ₹0 | ₹499 + taxes every 30 days | ₹20 | 1 primary + 1 secondary |
| FYERS | ₹0 | ₹0 | ₹20 (Standard); ₹15 on Prime at ₹499 + 18% GST a month | Not stated on support pages; a community post says one app, one IP |
| Angel One (SmartAPI) | ₹0 | ₹0, including historical data | ₹20 | Primary + optional secondary |
| ICICI Direct (Breeze) | ₹0 | ₹0 | As per your brokerage plan | Mandatory from 1 Apr 2026; slots not covered in our static IP guide |
| Kotak Neo (Trade API) | ₹0 "at present" | No subscription charge stated | ₹0 on Trade Free plans | Up to 2: primary + optional secondary |
| 5paisa (Xstream) | ₹0 | ₹0 | ₹20 | Not covered in our static IP guide |
| Shoonya (Finvasia) | Not stated | Not stated | ₹5 + GST | Not covered in our static IP guide |
| Alice Blue (ANT API) | ₹0 | ₹0 | ₹20 | Not covered in our static IP guide |
| Groww (Trade API) | ₹0 (Free Trial, no live data) | ₹499 + taxes a month or ₹4,999 + taxes a year | ₹20 | Primary + secondary as backup |
| Motilal Oswal (MO API) | ₹0 | Not stated | Not stated on the API pages | Not covered in our static IP guide |
Checked 13 Oct 2026, from each broker's own pricing page, API page, developer docs, support FAQ, blog or staff forum post, as listed in the sources. Conditions behind some prices (Kotak Neo's plan eligibility and switching fee, Zerodha's brokerage-based credits, Groww's early-bird label) are set out in the charges guide. Not a ranking, and we have no tie to any broker.
Start here: from the rules to a reviewed month
- 1
Work out which rules cover your setup
Your own script, code a friend wrote for you, or a platform that places orders for you? The first two are treated as your algo; the third must be an exchange-empanelled provider. The summary above covers the first two; for a platform, look it up in our empanelled algo providers guide.
- 2
Pick an API by data needs and order count
The order side costs ₹0 almost everywhere, so the bill is the data fee plus brokerage on every executed order. Count the orders your strategy sends in a month, list the data it reads, then price a full year with our algo trading charges guide. Check its rate-limit table against your busiest minute, not your average one.
- 3
Get a static IP and register it
Either a fixed address on your home or office connection, or a rented server in India that comes with one. Put a main address and a backup on file with the broker before the first live session. Our static IP guide shows where each broker keeps the setting and what each route costs. A platform hosted on your broker's servers uses the broker's address instead.
- 4
Test with one small order call
At six of the seven brokers in the static IP guide, price and candle requests are not checked against your IP, so live prices arriving on screen don't show that orders will. Log in fresh, send one small order, and read the brokerage on the contract note.
- 5
Write down what the code did, and what you did
Record each day's fills, rejections, and every time you paused, overrode or switched off the strategy. That record is what tells you, a month later, whether the strategy or your handling of it moved the result.
Trading API guides in this section
Each guide is researched on its own from regulators' circulars and brokers' own pages, with a check date on every figure.
Algo trading charges at 12 Indian brokers: API fees, data fees, per-order brokerage and rate limits
Algo trading charges at 12 Indian brokers, checked 13 Oct 2026: API and data fees, brokerage on API orders, rate limits, and a year's cost for one setup.
Checked 2026-10-13
Choosing a broker API for algo trading in India: start with the job
Choose a broker API for algo trading in India by data, execution, login and controls, with costs at 0, 50 and 500 option orders and source conflicts.
Checked 2026-10-14
Empanelled algo providers: NSE and BSE names, status and dates
Check empanelled algo providers on NSE and BSE lists, with exact names, provisional or final status, dated notices and limits of what empanelment establishes.
Checked 2026-10-14
Historical data API India: what each archive actually contains
Compare historical data API India lookbacks, candle intervals and expired options, with official NSE/BSE downloads and a clearly labelled request-time estimate.
Checked 2026-10-14
Kite Connect API pricing in 2026: Personal, Connect and renewal credits
Kite Connect API pricing checked 14 Oct 2026: free Personal vs ₹500 Connect, the dated price changes, renewal credits, history limits and daily login.
Checked 2026-10-14
Paper trading API India: what broker sandboxes actually test
Paper trading API in India: what the Upstox, Kite Connect and Dhan sandboxes let you test with no real money, their limits and SEBI's 2024 warning.
Checked 2026-10-14
NSE real time data price: pay for the feed, fields and rights you need
NSE real time data price checked 14 Oct 2026: broker WebSocket fees, vendor quote limits, depth and option-chain fields, plus data-use conditions.
Checked 2026-10-14
Static IP for algo trading in India: the exchange rule, three ways to get one, and how to whitelist it at seven brokers
Static IP for algo trading in India: what NSE's rule requires, how to whitelist it at 7 brokers, and what an ISP, VPS or cloud IP costs, checked 13 Oct 2026.
Checked 2026-10-13
Which guide answers which question
- "Is my strategy platform on the exchange's list?": the empanelled algo providers guide.
- "Is the Kite Connect, Dhan or Groww API free?", "What will a year of API trading cost me?", "What are the rate limits?": the charges guide.
- "Where do I get a static IP, and where do I enter it?", "Can my spouse use the same IP?": the static IP guide.
- "How do I stop all orders fast if my code misbehaves?": our kill switch comparison covers the brokers' own lock buttons.
- "Should I automate at all?": algo vs manual trading and how to start algo trading in India.
After the code runs: the part no API records
Your broker must keep an audit trail of API orders for at least five years, under the exchange standards. It shows what your code sent. It doesn't show why you started the strategy on a given morning, why you killed it after two losses, or the trade you took by hand alongside it because the setup looked too good. Those decisions often move a month's result as much as the code does, and they are easy to forget by the next weekly review.
A simple habit helps: after each session, write down the strategy's trades, any orders that bounced and why, and anything you did that the code didn't decide. Compare the two over a month. If the hand-made decisions keep costing money, that is a finding about you, not the API.
Trading API questions from Indian traders
Which Indian brokers offer a stock trading API?+
All 12 brokers in the table above publish one: Zerodha (Kite Connect), Upstox, Dhan (DhanHQ), FYERS, Angel One (SmartAPI), ICICI Direct (Breeze), Kotak Neo, 5paisa (Xstream), Shoonya, Alice Blue, Groww and Motilal Oswal. m.Stock also has a trading API page. Other brokers may offer one too; these are the ones we checked.
Is API trading free in India?+
The API access usually is. On 13 October 2026, 11 of the 12 brokers we checked listed the order API at ₹0, and Shoonya's pages didn't say. You still pay brokerage on each executed order, statutory charges, a data fee at Zerodha's Connect plan, Dhan and Groww's paid plans, and the cost of your static IP or server.
Can retail traders use a broker API for algo trading?+
SEBI's framework of 4 February 2025 provides for it through your broker, and it has applied to all stock brokers since 1 April 2026. Your own code may send up to 10 orders per second per exchange without algo registration; above that, the algo must be registered with each exchange through your broker. Third-party platforms placing orders for you must be empanelled with the exchange.
Does m.Stock have a trading API, and what does it cost?+
Yes. m.Stock's trading API page, checked on 13 October 2026, lists ₹0 one-time charges, ₹0 trading API charges and ₹0 data API charges with no subscription fee. It shows ₹10 per order brokerage on F&O, intraday and its Pay Later (MTF) product, ₹0 brokerage for the first 30 days (without saying which segments), and 10 orders a second. Statutory charges and taxes are extra. The page doesn't say whether the brokerage differs for API orders, and it doesn't mention static IPs.
What is the difference between a trading API and a data API?+
The trading (order) API places, modifies and cancels orders and reads your positions and funds. The data API carries the live price feed and historical candles. Brokers often price them separately: Dhan's trading APIs are free while its Data API costs ₹499 plus taxes every 30 days, and Kite Connect's free Personal plan has no live or historical data.
Can I use a trading API without coding?+
Yes, through a strategy platform that connects to your broker. Under SEBI's framework that platform acts as an algo provider: it must be empanelled with the exchange and its strategies hosted on your broker's servers. NSE's FAQ says the static IP in that case is the broker server's, not yours. The platform may charge its own fee.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these. Each was checked on the date shown.
- [1]SEBI circular SEBI/HO/MIRSD/MIRSD-PoD/P/CIR/2025/0000013, Safer participation of retail investors in Algorithmic trading, 4 Feb 2025 (copy enclosed with NSE/INVG/66524, 5 Feb 2025) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [2]SEBI circular SEBI/HO/MIRSD/MIRSD-PoD/P/CIR/2025/132, extension of timeline with glide path, 30 Sep 2025 (copy enclosed with NSE/INVG/70541, 30 Sep 2025) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [3]NSE circular NSE/INVG/67858, Implementation Standards for safer participation of retail investors in Algorithmic trading, 5 May 2025 · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [4]NSE circular NSE/INVG/69255, Safer participation of Retail investors in Algorithmic trading: Detailed Operational Modalities, 22 Jul 2025 · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [5]NSE circular NSE/FAOP/69296, Algo Market Order pre-emptive cancellation and NNF ID-Algo ID validations (F&O), 24 Jul 2025 · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [6]NSE FAQs: Safer participation of Retail investors in Algorithmic trading (file dated 3 Nov 2025) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [7]Zerodha support: What are the charges for Kite APIs? · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [8]Zerodha: Charges page · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [9]Zerodha support: Static IP for Kite Connect · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [10]Upstox: Trading API page · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [11]Upstox: Brokerage charges page · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [12]Upstox community (staff): ₹10/order continues for API based trading, 6 Oct 2026 · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [13]Upstox community: API trading charges still Rs. 10/order in Oct? (community manager reply, 5 Oct 2026) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [14]Upstox API docs: Get Static IPs · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [15]Dhan support: How does the DhanHQ Data API subscription work? · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [16]Dhan: Pricing page · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [17]DhanHQ API v2 docs: Authentication and static IP · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [18]FYERS API v3 documentation: Rate limits (Standard plan free) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [19]FYERS: Pricing page · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [20]FYERS: Prime membership page · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [21]FYERS community: SEBI's new algo trading rules kick in on April 1, 6 Mar 2026 · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [22]Angel One SmartAPI: FAQ · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [23]Angel One: Brokerage and exchange transaction charges · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [24]Angel One: What's Changing in Angel One's SmartAPI Access from April 1, 2026 (published 25 Feb 2026, updated 13 Mar 2026) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [25]ICICI Direct: Breeze API page and FAQs · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [26]Kotak Neo: Trade API page and FAQs · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [27]Kotak Neo: Trade Free plan pricing · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [28]Kotak Neo: Static IP Whitelisting for Retail Algo Trading · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [29]5paisa: Xstream developer APIs page · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [30]5paisa: Brokerage charges page · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [31]Shoonya (Finvasia): Pricing page · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [32]Alice Blue support: API Basics · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [33]Alice Blue: Pricing page · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [34]Groww blog: API trading on Groww, 30 Sep 2026 · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [35]Groww help centre: How much is the brokerage? · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [36]Groww blog: Static IP for API Trading: Setup Guide, 2 Sep 2026 · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [37]Motilal Oswal: MO API (Explore APIs) page · checked 13 Oct 2026
- [38]m.Stock by Mirae Asset: Trading API page · checked 13 Oct 2026