Skip to content

    Trading platforms

    TradingView real time data for NSE: why charts, quotes and option chains are delayed, and what live data costs

    TradingView's data coverage page, checked on 13 October 2026, says real time data for NSE is free on its Essential plan (₹995 a month billed annually) or higher, and delayed by 15 minutes on the free Basic plan. Delays like this come from licensing. NSE and BSE sell live prices under paid licences, and SEBI's circular of 24 May 2024 bars exchanges and brokers from sharing real-time prices with third parties except for the orderly functioning of the market or regulatory needs. Your broker's own app is live because brokers receive the exchange feed as members.

    Facts checked 13 Oct 2026 against 21 sources. No affiliate links. Not investment advice.

    Is TradingView real time for NSE? It depends on your plan

    On 13 October 2026, TradingView's data coverage page lists NSE delayed data as free with a 15 minute delay, and real-time NSE fees as "Included in paid plans". Its note on the NSE row reads: "Real-time NSE data is free for users with the Essential plan or higher. On the Basic plan, data is delayed by 15 minutes." BSE is different: delayed by 15 minutes for free, and a separate monthly add-on for real-time.

    Traders noticed the NSE change in September 2026. A FYERS community post dated 19 September 2026 and a thread on Zerodha's TradingQnA forum started on 20 September 2026 both describe free TradingView charts moving to a 15 minute delay. TradingView did not publish a date for the change that we could find.

    The delay itself is a licensing matter. Three things decide what a screen may show you:

    • The exchange's licence. NSE and BSE own their price data and charge vendors, websites and apps to display it, with real-time costing many times more than delayed.
    • SEBI's 2024 rule. Exchanges and registered intermediaries, including brokers, must not pass real-time prices to third parties except for orderly market functioning or regulatory requirements.
    • The platform's choice. A licensed platform decides which users get live data and what it charges them.

    None of the SEBI circulars sets a 15 minute figure. Fifteen minutes is a licence tier that NSE and BSE price separately.

    Who can show you Indian prices, and how fresh, checked 13 Oct 2026

    What each kind of platform is allowed or licensed to show, from SEBI's circulars and NSE's data policy and price list. Checked 13 October 2026. NSE fees are from NSE Data & Analytics' price list effective 1 April 2026 and exclude taxes.

    Who is showing the priceLive prices?Delay or conditionWhere the rule comes from
    Your broker's own app or terminal (an NSE trading member)Yes, to its clientsNSE gives trading members live feed data "as a part of their ongoing membership"NSE Data Usage and Data Sharing Policy, clause 4.1
    Licensed data vendor or charting softwareYes, under a licenceNSE charges a fixed yearly fee plus a monthly fee per user, for example ₹25,50,000 a year plus ₹875 per domestic user a month for capital market Level 1 on a charting applicationNSE price list 2026, section 1.1
    Open website or mobile app showing quotesOnly with a real-time licenceNSE capital market real-time snapshot: ₹29,20,000 a year per website. A 1-minute snapshot delayed by 15 minutes: ₹1,20,000 a yearNSE price list 2026, section 2.0
    Exchange or broker sharing data for investor educationNo30 days old from 1 July 2026 (it was 1 day), with no monetary incentive to participantsSEBI circular of 8 May 2026, para 6.1
    A person engaged solely in education (courses, videos, posts)NoShould not use the preceding 30 days of prices to name a security while indicating its future price, advice or a recommendation (it was three months)SEBI circular of 8 May 2026, para 6.2
    NISM simulation labNoMay receive prices with a 1 day lag, only for its simulation labSEBI circular of 8 May 2026, paras 5 and 6.1
    Online gaming, virtual trading, simulation or fantasy platformsNoNSE says its market data "shall not be provided" to themNSE Data Usage and Data Sharing Policy, clause 7.4
    Any other third partyOnly if needed for the market or a regulatory requirementNeeds a written agreement stating the use and its justification; the list is reviewed by the board at least once a financial yearSEBI circular of 24 May 2024, para 2(i) and 2(ii)

    Rows 1, 2, 3 and 7 come from NSE documents; BSE publishes its own tariff (February 2025) and we did not find a BSE policy clause matching row 7. Rows 4, 5, 6 and 8 come from SEBI circulars. Checked 13 October 2026.

    SEBI's price data rules and the TradingView change, May 2024 to October 2026

    1. SEBI restricts real-time price data sharing

      Circular SEBI/HO/MRD/MRD-PoD-3/P/CIR/2024/56, "Norms for sharing of real time price data to third parties". It opens by noting platforms offering virtual trading or fantasy games based on live share prices, some with monetary incentives.

      Source: [1]

    2. NSE passes the circular to its members

      NSE/COMP/62283 (circular ref. 24/2024) attaches the SEBI circular and asks members and market participants to take note.

      Source: [2]

    3. The 2024 rule takes effect

      SEBI wrote that its provisions apply "from the 30th day of issuance of the circular", which falls in late June 2024.

      Source: [1]

    4. Educators limited to three-month-old prices

      SEBI/HO/MIRSD/MIRSD-PoD-1/P/CIR/2025/11, FAQ 8: a person engaged solely in education should not use the preceding three months of price data to name a security while indicating its future price or a recommendation.

      Source: [3]

    5. SEBI proposes one 30-day lag

      A consultation paper proposes the same 30-day lag for sharing and using price data for education. Comments closed on 27 January 2026.

      Source: [4]

    6. NSE's current data price list starts

      NSE Data & Analytics' domestic price list, the one used on this page, is effective from 1 April 2026.

      Source: [8]

    7. SEBI sets 30 days for education data

      Circular HO/47/17/12(11)2025-MRD-POD3/I/11107/2026 replaces the 1 day sharing lag and the three-month usage lag with 30 days each, allows NISM a 1 day lag for its simulation lab, and adds an audit trail of data use to the sharing agreement.

      Source: [5]

    8. NSE forwards the May 2026 circular

      NSE/COMP/74156 (circular ref. 44/2026) attaches it for members.

      Source: [6]

    9. The 30-day lag applies

      Para 7 of the May 2026 circular makes it applicable from 1 July 2026. SEBI's updated copy of the January 2025 circular footnotes the revised FAQ 8 as modified "with effect from May 8, 2026", so SEBI's two documents give different dates for that answer.

      Source: [5]

    10. Traders report free TradingView NSE data delayed

      A FYERS community announcement (19 September) and a TradingQnA thread (20 September) report a 15 minute delay on free TradingView accounts. These are reports, not a TradingView notice.

      Source: [20]

    11. TradingView's coverage page ties live NSE data to paid plans

      "Real-time NSE data is free for users with the Essential plan or higher. On the Basic plan, data is delayed by 15 minutes."

      Source: [11]

    “Stock exchanges, clearing corporations and depositories (collectively referred as Market Infrastructure Institutions (MIIs)) and registered market intermediaries shall ensure that no real time price data is shared with any third party including various platforms, except where sharing of such information is required for orderly functioning of the securities market or for fulfilling regulatory requirements.”
    SEBI circular SEBI/HO/MRD/MRD-PoD-3/P/CIR/2024/56, 24 May 2024, para 2(i)

    Source: [1]

    What the 2024 and 2026 circulars actually require

    The May 2024 rule is about who may pass on live prices

    The circular is addressed to stock exchanges, clearing corporations, depositories and registered market intermediaries. In plain terms, it limits what they may hand on. Where they share real-time data, they must sign an agreement that states what the data will be used for and why it is needed for the orderly functioning of the market, and their board must review that list of recipients at least once a financial year. They must also do due diligence and include terms to prevent misuse.

    The circular does not ban live prices on your screen. SEBI's January 2026 consultation paper describes the 2024 circular as restricting the sharing of live data by exchanges "only for trading and its related activities". What prompted it, in SEBI's opening paragraph, was platforms running virtual trading or fantasy games on live share prices.

    The May 2026 rule is about education

    Some summaries describe the 8 May 2026 circular as a 30-day lag on all data shared with unregulated parties. The text is narrower. Its subject is "Norms for sharing and usage of price data for educational purposes", and it changes two things from 1 July 2026:

    • Exchanges and brokers may share price data for investor education and awareness only with a lag of thirty days, up from one day.
    • A person engaged solely in education should not use the preceding thirty days of prices to name a security while indicating its future price, advice or a recommendation. The earlier limit was three months.

    SEBI gave its reasons in the circular: stakeholders said one day was "very short" with a possibility of misuse, and three months was "too long" for educational use. The real-time restriction in para 2(i) of the 2024 circular was not changed.

    What NSE and BSE charge a public website per year to show share prices, by freshness

    NSE: capital market segment, price list effective 1 April 2026, per website or medium (the real-time row is NSE's Level 1 snapshot for an open website). BSE: equity Level 1 for an open website or mobile app, tariff sheet dated February 2025. All fees exclude taxes. Checked 13 October 2026.

    Yearly fee
    • NSE real-time snapshot₹ a year29,20,000
    • NSE 1-minute snapshot₹ a year16,00,000
    • NSE 5-minute snapshot₹ a year4,20,000
    • NSE 1-minute snapshot, 15 min delayed₹ a year1,20,000
    • NSE end of day₹ a year1,00,000
    • BSE real-time₹ a year16,00,000
    • BSE 5-minute snapshot or delayed₹ a year3,00,000
    • BSE 15-minute snapshot or delayed₹ a year75,000

    Sources: [8], [10]

    Why your broker shows live prices and a free website may not

    The gap in those bars is the whole story. For NSE's capital market segment, a real-time snapshot licence for one open website costs ₹29,20,000 a year, while a 1-minute snapshot delayed by 15 minutes costs ₹1,20,000, about 24 times less. BSE's open website tariff shows the same pattern: ₹16,00,000 a year for real-time equity Level 1 against ₹75,000 for a 15 minute delay, about 21 times less. NSE's separate, undated delayed data tariff sheet adds two useful notes: real-time vendors may show 15 minute (or older) delayed data on their own terminal or software at no extra fee for display, and data delayed by 20 minutes, 30 minutes or an hour costs the same as a 15 minute delay.

    For a free quote site, the delayed licence is the obvious saving. Not every free site takes it: Google's finance data listing marks both NSE and BSE as "Realtime", and Yahoo's exchange list shows NSE (.NS) as real-time and BSE (.BO) as 15 minutes delayed.

    Your broker is in a different position. NSE's data policy says trading members get live feed data as part of their membership, so the charts inside your broker's app can show live prices to its clients, including TradingView charts that some brokers build into their own platforms. Dhan's TradingView page, for example, offers its users TradingView charts "live for free" on tv.dhan.co. If you place trades through a broker API, live data there has its own price list; see our algo trading charges guide.

    Why the option chain is often the most delayed screen

    An option chain needs live futures and options prices for every strike, and NSE prices F&O on the same scale as stocks: ₹29,20,000 a year for a real-time F&O snapshot on an open website, against ₹1,20,000 for a 1-minute snapshot delayed by 15 minutes. Computed figures cost extra too. For a trading member showing it to its registered clients, NSE's real-time option Greeks and analytics feed costs ₹4,00,000 to ₹9,00,000 a year, depending on whether it updates every minute, every second or tick by tick. This price gap is one reason a free option chain site may show older numbers while your broker's option chain is current. We compare the free option chain sites in a separate guide.

    TradingView real time data cost for NSE and BSE over a year

    Prices TradingView's India site showed us on 13 October 2026, for a non-professional user who wants real-time NSE plus BSE stocks and BSE F&O. TradingView labels the Essential price a "special price". BSE add-ons need a paid plan. TradingView says sales tax may be added depending on your location; it is not included here.

    Essential plan, billed annually₹995 a month × 12. TradingView's coverage page says real-time NSE is included from Essential up
    ₹11,940
    BSE stocks real-time add-on₹422 a month × 12 (₹3,705 a month for professional users)
    ₹5,064
    BSE futures and options real-time add-on₹176 a month × 12 (₹1,666 a month for professional users)
    ₹2,112
    Real-time NSE and BSE on TradingView, one year, before tax
    ₹19,116

    Sources: [12], [11]

    Real-time Indian prices on TradingView and other platforms, checked 13 Oct 2026

    Each row is from the platform's own page, opened on 13 October 2026, except where a row says it is a report. Prices are what each page showed; whether GST is included is noted only where the page says so.

    Platform or routeWhat you see freeHow you get live pricesWhat to know
    TradingView, NSEDelayed 15 minutes on the Basic planEssential plan or higher: ₹995 a month billed annually (₹11,940 a year) or ₹1,295 paid monthlyTradingView's F&O help article still says non-professional users get real-time NSE F&O by default; see the warning below
    TradingView, BSE stocksDelayed 15 minutesAdd-on at ₹422 a month (non-professional) or ₹3,705 (professional), on top of a paid planTradingView does not refund market data purchases, per its pricing FAQ
    TradingView, BSE futures and optionsDelayed 15 minutesAdd-on at ₹176 a month (non-professional) or ₹1,666 (professional)TradingView's help says BSE F&O is delayed for all users until the package is bought
    TradingView with a broker loginDepends on the brokerConnect the broker in TradingView's Trading Panel; the verification lasts 7 days and renews at each loginTradingView's broker table lists Indian brokers for BSE and BSE Futures only. FYERS says (19 Sep 2026) its users get real-time NSE data on TradingView.com after logging in
    Your broker's own chartsLive, as a clientLog in to the broker's app or web terminalExample: Dhan says TradingView charts on tv.dhan.co are live and free for its users
    Google FinanceNSE and BSE listed as "Realtime"FreeGoogle says it does not verify the data and that data may be delayed as specified by exchanges or providers
    Yahoo FinanceNSE (.NS) real-time; BSE (.BO) 15 minutes delayedFreeYahoo names ICE Data Services as the provider for both
    TrueData (authorised data vendor)Not statedPaid plans shown from ₹1,699 a monthSays exchange per-user fees are included in the price; GST not stated in the text we read

    TradingView rows: in.tradingview.com data coverage, pricing and help pages. Google: Google Finance disclaimer and data listing. Yahoo: Yahoo Help exchange list. TrueData: its pricing page. Dhan: dhan.co/tradingview. FYERS: FYERS community post, 19 Sep 2026. Checked 13 October 2026.

    How to tell if the price on your screen is delayed

    • Look at the chart's status line

      TradingView shows a "Data is delayed" message in the status line when you don't have real-time data for that exchange.

    • Compare with your broker app at the same moment

      Open the same symbol in both. If the last traded price or the time of the last trade differs, the slower one is delayed.

    • Read the site's data disclaimer

      Google and Yahoo publish a delay for each exchange. A site that names no delay and no data provider is harder to trust for timing.

    • Check the timestamp on option chain pages

      Most option chain pages print an "as on" or "updated" time. Compare it with the clock before reading open interest or premiums.

    • Check your plan and data subscriptions

      TradingView's help says to check your profile if you are unsure of your data status.

    • Be wary of live prices inside games or prize contests

      NSE's policy says its data shall not be provided to virtual trading, simulation or fantasy platforms.

    Trading intraday from a delayed screen

    A chart delayed by 15 minutes shows the market as it was 15 minutes ago. Your broker fills orders at the exchange's current price, so a level you see break on a delayed chart may already be far behind. Stop-loss and target orders also trigger on live prices, not on the chart you are watching. Even when a broker login gives you real-time data on TradingView's free plan, TradingView's help article says data on the free plan "updates every few seconds", while paid plans update faster when trades happen.

    For intraday and option trades, keep two things apart. Use a delayed chart, if you like, for study and planning. Take the entry and exit decision on your broker's live screen, where the price you see is the price you can trade.

    Where to get live Indian prices legitimately

    • Your broker's app, web terminal or built-in TradingView charts, which run on the broker's exchange feed.
    • A paid TradingView plan for NSE, plus BSE add-ons if you need them. Our TradingView plans in India guide covers the plans themselves.
    • A licensed data vendor, which pays NSE and BSE and passes the cost on. The cost of data feeds for code and APIs is in our real-time market data cost guide.

    This page does not suggest ways around exchange licensing. NSE's data policy says trading members and subscribers may not redistribute its market data except as their agreement allows.

    One habit helps whatever chart you use. When you journal a trade, take the entry and exit time and price from your broker's trade book or contract note, not from a chart you read later. If you review trades by time of day in an intraday trading journal, a delayed chart can put a trade in the wrong 15-minute slot.

    Questions about delayed and real-time data

    Is TradingView data real time for NSE?+

    On a paid plan, yes, according to TradingView's data coverage page on 13 October 2026: real-time NSE data is free from the Essential plan up, and delayed by 15 minutes on the free Basic plan. An older TradingView help article still says non-professional users get real-time NSE futures and options by default, so check the status on your own chart.

    Why is TradingView not real time on my free account?+

    Since September 2026, traders have reported NSE data on free TradingView accounts running 15 minutes behind, and TradingView's coverage page now says Basic is delayed. Exchange data is licensed and a platform decides which plans include it. BSE real-time needs a paid add-on on TradingView.

    What does TradingView real time data cost for Indian markets?+

    On 13 October 2026, the Essential plan cost ₹995 a month billed annually (₹11,940 a year) or ₹1,295 monthly (TradingView labels the annual price a "special price"), and its coverage page says Essential includes real-time NSE. BSE stocks add ₹422 a month and BSE futures and options ₹176 a month for non-professional users. Sales tax may be added depending on location.

    Why is the option chain delayed on some websites?+

    A real-time F&O licence from NSE for an open website costs ₹29,20,000 a year, against ₹1,20,000 for a 1-minute snapshot delayed by 15 minutes (NSE price list from 1 April 2026, before taxes). A free site that takes the cheaper delayed licence shows older numbers. Your broker's option chain runs on its live member feed.

    Does SEBI's 30-day rule mean charts must be 30 days old?+

    No. SEBI's 8 May 2026 circular applies the 30-day lag to price data shared for investor education and to people engaged solely in education. It does not change the 2024 rule on real-time data, which still allows sharing where it is required for orderly functioning of the securities market or for regulatory requirements.

    Sources

    Every figure on this page comes from one of these. Each was checked on the date shown.

    1. [1]SEBI circular SEBI/HO/MRD/MRD-PoD-3/P/CIR/2024/56, Norms for sharing of real time price data to third parties, 24 May 2024 · checked 13 Oct 2026
    2. [2]NSE circular NSE/COMP/62283, Norms for sharing of real time price data to third parties, 31 May 2024 (attaches the SEBI circular) · checked 13 Oct 2026
    3. [3]SEBI circular SEBI/HO/MIRSD/MIRSD-PoD-1/P/CIR/2025/11, association of regulated persons with persons engaged in prohibited activities, 29 Jan 2025 (FAQ 8) · checked 13 Oct 2026
    4. [4]SEBI consultation paper, Norms for sharing and usage of price data for educational purposes, 6 Jan 2026 · checked 13 Oct 2026
    5. [5]SEBI circular HO/47/17/12(11)2025-MRD-POD3/I/11107/2026, Norms for sharing and usage of price data for educational purposes, 8 May 2026 · checked 13 Oct 2026
    6. [6]NSE circular NSE/COMP/74156, Norms for sharing and usage of price data for educational purposes, 11 May 2026 · checked 13 Oct 2026
    7. [7]NSE and NSE Data & Analytics, Data Usage and Data Sharing Policy · checked 13 Oct 2026
    8. [8]NSE Data & Analytics, NSE Market Data Pricing for domestic customers, effective 1 April 2026 · checked 13 Oct 2026
    9. [9]NSE Data & Analytics, 15 mins delayed data tariff sheet (undated) · checked 13 Oct 2026
    10. [10]BSE Information Products Domestic Tariff Sheet, February 2025 · checked 13 Oct 2026
    11. [11]TradingView India, Market data global coverage page · checked 13 Oct 2026
    12. [12]TradingView India, Subscriptions and pricing page · checked 13 Oct 2026
    13. [13]TradingView Help Center, Can I access real-time futures and options data from NSE and BSE? · checked 13 Oct 2026
    14. [14]TradingView Help Center, How can I get real-time data from exchanges that I have already purchased with my broker? · checked 13 Oct 2026
    15. [15]TradingView Help Center, How to purchase additional market data · checked 13 Oct 2026
    16. [16]Google Finance, Disclaimers and Finance Data Listing · checked 13 Oct 2026
    17. [17]Yahoo Help, Exchanges and data providers on Yahoo Finance · checked 13 Oct 2026
    18. [18]TrueData, pricing page · checked 13 Oct 2026
    19. [19]Dhan, Dhan + TradingView page · checked 13 Oct 2026
    20. [20]FYERS Community, NSE Data Delayed on TradingView: Here's What You Can Do, 19 Sep 2026 · checked 13 Oct 2026
    21. [21]TradingQnA (Zerodha forum), Why is no one talking about this? (tradingview data delay), 20-21 Sep 2026 · checked 13 Oct 2026